Day #2 – A Simmering Pot, A Procrastinating Student

Oh, by the way, got back my WWII history essay back today.

Yeah, REALLY should not have procrastinated on it. Comments noted the numerous grammatical and careless errors like lacking punctuation and several run-on sentences etc things that could have been prevented had I actually spent a reasonable time on it instead of procrastinating til the last minute…

The score wasn’t like devastating or anything, but I KNOW I could have done much better on it than I did and my class grade definitely took a hit since it was worth 30% of my grade. Arghhh. Feel a bit sorry for my professor for having to read through that slog of an essay to be honest, since I will admit, yeah it was bad… anyways

We will wait and see how I did on the Ecology midterm, but hopefully a great score there will make up for my poor one here. (actually, that would make a good future post, how to remember scientific names. Ill think about it)

Ummm….. huh. Well I am running out of time since it is 11:30pm right now (completely forgot about this challenge til now) so here goes nothing!


I’m going to do a daily post prompt now since I was going to write another post about why afternoon classes are awesome but ran out of things to say and it needs more editing to reach the 500 word count.

-Skip to here people arriving from the daily prompt page-

Today’s (that is November 2nd, 2017) daily post theme is… *drumroll for the people arriving to this blog from a different place*

Simmer!

Which is an interesting word when you think about it. Not full on panic boiling but not still and calm water either. Just bubbling away on the back burner without notice.

In a weird way, it is a bit of a metaphor for how small issues slowly develop into large problems.

Both things on a large scale like climate change (which I can’t believe is an issue up to debate in today’s political discourse) or on the personal scale like delaying starting a midterm essay.

At the same time though, the opposite can be true as well.

A little small spark that grows and gains momentum, that works toward a cause, slowly, until the pot simmers over and real change can occur.

A watched pot may not boil, but turn your back on it, and that small simmer may prove to be more powerful than you first thought.

(wow that was a contrived A.F. metaphor 😛 I tried and it is late at night)

Unrelated side note:

I’ve always wondered about those silly “As seen on TV” Ad that used to be aired on TV about that plastic container you make microwaved pasta in. How did they get that effect of the pot to boil over consistently? Like I don’t think that a producer would want to have boiling water so close to the “clumsy actor people”, plus pots don’t really foam over like that in real life when simmering things.

Perhaps they used like soap or something to get that effect? Especially since those clips are always in black and white, so there could be a bit more movie magic involved than I first thought.

But yeah, where was I?

I am feeling a bit like a simmering pot at the moment. I can feel the incoming “boil” with all my final exams and big essays where everything is worth 50%-70% of my final grade on the horizon, but I haven’t brought myself to turn off the stove yet…

Hope this doesn’t blow up in my face….

So there! A few hundred words about a random daily post word, adding up to my 500 word limit. Whoop!

That is all for now, see you tomorrow!

-Rebecca

Leave a Reply

